Two Board of Director Seats are Expiring for District 4 & 7

Posted April 17, 2024

Two Board of Director Seats are Expiring for District 4 & 7


District 4: Aura/Skanee

District 7: Lake Linden


Below is information from our by-laws that explain how to recieve and submit a nominating petition to become a director. 


Section 2. Election of Directors

Directors shall be elected for three (3) year terms in the following manner:

  1. Any member seeking a term on the Board of Directors for a term due to expire shall contact the Cooperative's main office for a nominating petition for said District.
  2. The member shall have until the first Monday in May to return the petition to the main office of the Cooperative.
  3. When nominating petitions containing the signatures of five (5) members of the Cooperative residing in a given district, nominating a member, have been received, that member shall be deemed nominated, if he or she is a permanent, full-time resident of that district, as evidenced by either driver’s license, voter registration or homestead exemption within the district. In addition, no member shall be nominated unless he has attained the age of 21.
  4. After the close of nominations and no later than (30) days before the Annual Meeting, the Cooperative shall mail ballots to all members residing in districts electing directors. The ballot shall contain the names of all nominees from the districts in which the member resides.
  5. The ballots must be returned to the main office of the Cooperative no later than noon of the last Monday preceding the Annual Meeting.
  6. The person receiving a plurality of the votes in a district shall be declared elected.
  7. The Board of Directors shall appoint a committee of five (5) Members, none of whom shall be a director, to count the votes and declare the winner.
  8. If there is only one person nominated for the position of board member from a District, that person shall be deemed to be elected and mail ballots shall not be processed, mailed or tabulated for such District.